New South Wales closes the border Melbourne residents

New South Wales closes the border to residents from 36 hotspot Melbourne suburbs as second wave of coronavirus ravages Victoria

New South Wales will move to ban people entering the state from 36 Melbourne suburbs which have been locked down due to a COVID outbreak.

Health Minister Brad Hazzard said anyone from those areas caught in NSW could face six months in jail and an $11,000 fine from 11.59pm tonight. 

Queensland announced a similar policy on Tuesday and went further by requiring people returning from those hotspots to pay for their own two-week quarantine. 

New South Wales residents coming back from those hotspots are allowed to return home but must isolate at home for 14 days. 



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button